Ten Teachers Recognized By Mayor For Outstanding Work

By: Erika Heidecker

San Francisco Mayor Ed Lee announced the winners of this year's Teacher of the Month Award Wednesday in a ceremony at AT&T Park during a Giants game.

Started in 2006, the award recognizes ten teachers, each representing a month of the school year, for their exemplary work, according to the mayor's office.

"Even during these difficult fiscal times, our teachers prioritize our students and provide an enriching environment in the classroom and in our community," Lee said in a statement.

The recipients were nominated by parents, students, educators, administrators, and other community members for their outstanding work in the classroom.

This year's recipients were:
Steven Bonaccorso of John O'Connell High School
Sarah Brant of Balboa High School
Nina Mayer of George Washington High School
Jean Micheli of McKinley Elementary School
Juan Novella of Fairmount Elementary School
Janice Reilly of Commodore Sloat Elementary School
Luis Serra of Alvarado Elementary School
Julie Wong of Noriega Child Development Center
James Samuel of Presidio Child Development Center
Dale Richardson of New Traditions Elementary School.

Each teacher will receive a check, an award from Tiffany & Co., and gifts from San Francisco institutions, including the de Young Museum, and the California Academy of Sciences, and local businesses.